給第三方物流、電商商家及零售商的特別優惠。 獲得優惠!

通用選擇器
搜索…...
搜索…...
搜索…...
在帖子中搜索
分類
6 Reason Why SaaS WMS Is Suitable For SMES

6 個 SaaS WMS 適合中小企的原因

早於80年代開始,批發及零售商是靠傳統倉庫系統(Traditional WMS)來管理庫存,這些傳統 WMS 通常基於製造業、批發或大型零售業場景而設計的。但隨著近20至30年來全球零售模式的轉變,特別是電子商務(eCommerce)的發展,這些傳統軟件方案更見落後、笨重和昂貴。因此軟件即服務倉庫管理系統(SaaS WMS)的出現,正正能解決新型零售和電子商務的倉儲和揀配操作需要。

logi-Cloud 整理了SaaS WMS 較傳統WMS 的6大優勝之處

(1) 低門檻 簡易實施

對中小企來說,一套能輕鬆實行的倉庫管理系統(WMS)可大大減輕實施過程中的痛苦。SaaS WMS 提供簡易的線上用戶指南供客戶查看和學習,透過大多數人都能輕易理解的用戶界面和系統內置的即時提示,用戶可直接在系統中上邊學邊用,令實施門檻大大降低。即使是剛入職的員工也能於短時間內適應,例如在短短15分鐘內便能上手進行揀貨、入箱和發貨等步驟。相反,傳統倉庫系統只於實施期內提供教學,如其後有新員工入職便需要內部人員作培訓,相對需要更多人力資源及時間。而且,要一直保持培訓資料與最新的軟件功能可以有效對應,也需要花一定的精力和時間。

(2) 系統集成的開放度

部分公司已設立既有的商業系統包括ERP系統、會計系統、貿易系統等。SaaS WMS 具有開放的應用程序編程接口(Open API),能輕鬆與不同系統對接及整合。而針對電商業務,SaaS WMS 亦能自動連結各大電商網店及快遞平台。由於 SaaS WMS 的 Open API在實施前已準備好,因此當市面上出現各種新的軟件或網購平台時,SaaS WMS都能在短時間內進行對接。同樣地,要連接公司現有的ERP系統,SaaS WMS 的一方也能做到輕鬆配對。相對於傳統倉庫系統,連接新軟件或平台時,每每需要耗費開發時間和金錢。

(3) 適應業務規模的彈性

近年來,零售和電子商務不斷變化和發展,貨品逐步碎片化,來源地域多樣化,人們的選擇和需求日益增多,使零售產品的生命周期(Product Life Cycle)變得越來越短,令要改變倉庫規模(包括人力資源和倉庫數量兩方面)的可能性大大提高。而混合渠道銷售(Omni-Channel)的出現令企業需要進一步整合線上及線下訂單的物流操作。正正因為SaaS WMS建基於一套能持續改良的基礎架構,系統自動升級而無需額外開發,具備高度靈活性,能同時支援多倉庫、多渠道、多平台,就能輕鬆及快速配合以上提及的企業規模變化。相反,傳統倉庫管理系統只能基於現有系統的設計運作,需要一段時間提升系統,以致未能及時適應這些急速的變化。例如,2020年疫情爆發使人們多留在家中網購,電子商務企業需要迅速擴大銷售規模,此時便需要一套靈活的 SaaS WMS,以配合企業在幾天內便需實現倉務規模擴展的要求。

(4) 降低對IT資源的依賴程度

在實施傳統倉庫管理系統時,企業對IT人才和能力要求很高,其不但要具備軟硬件相關知識和技術,更需要了解倉庫物流的運作,因此企業未必能輕易在市場上找到勝任的人才。而提供SaaS WMS的公司多數是由具豐富物流經驗的業內人士自行研發,憑藉對物流業的熟悉程度,加上 SaaS WMS 月費模式中已包括 IT 技術及客戶支援服務,企業就不需擔心內部人才的問題或系統出現疑難時求助無門。

(5) 省卻持續的管理成本(Total Cost of Ownership)

傳統WMS成本高昂,首先是前期軟件開發,通常可由港幣30萬至100萬以上,其後於項目實施時需要採購及設置服務器和防火牆、員工培訓、項目管理等一般都需要港幣數十萬以上,實施門檻相對高。此外,不要忽略隱藏的持續資產營運及維護成本,包括服務器維護、軟件維護費、軟件升級、能源成本、備份成本⋯⋯ 相反 SaaS WMS 月費一般比例只為倉務員的小部分月薪,已經可使企業無後顧之憂,集中資源到實際運作中。

(6) 緊貼時代創新之優勢  

要涉足仍在不斷發展且需求每天不同的零售及電子商務,必須擁有強大的競爭優勢,這意味著創新的重要性。SaaS WMS 只有一套代碼庫,意味著創新改良變得簡易且能持續進行,最重要是其更新速度能緊貼時代科技發展及能迅速發布給客戶,對於進入零售及電商競賽的企業而言,這一點至關重要。相反傳統 WMS 必須逐一為客戶進行建設及改良,大大延遲了新功能的發布日程。此外,基於SaaS WMS 持續改良的機制,就算系統功能有任何不足的地方,普遍來說都能立即修復,及於一星期內進行升級。

SaaS WMS 較傳統WMS 的優勝之處當然不只這6點,緊貼 logi-Cloud 網站/社交平台及訂閱每月電郵通訊,獲取更多物流科技資訊的最新消息吧!

分享:
分享到 facebook
分享到 twitter
分享到 linkedin
分享到 whatsapp
分享到 email
分享到 telegram

分享:

分享到 facebook
分享到 twitter
分享到 linkedin
分享到 whatsapp
分享到 email
分享到 telegram

SPECIAL OFFER To 3PLs, Ecommerce Merchants And Retailers. GET THE OFFER!

Generic selectors
Search for…...
Search for…...
Search for…...
Search in posts
Categories
6 Reason Why SaaS WMS Is Suitable For SMES

6 Reasons Why SaaS WMS Is Suitable For SMEs

Back in the 1980s, wholesalers and retailers used to manage inventory only with traditional Warehouse Management Systems (WMS). These traditional WMS were generally designed for the scenes of manufacturing, wholesaling or large-scale retail industries. Nevertheless, with transformations in global retail patterns in the past 20 to 30 years, especially the development of eCommerce,  these traditional software solutions appeared to be more outmoded, cumbersome and expensive. The emergence of the Software as a Service (SaaS) WMS would therefore assist in addressing the operation needs of warehousing and fulfilment for New Retail and eCommerce.

6 Advantages of How SaaS WMS Outperforms Traditional WMS Compiled by logi-Cloud

(1) Low Threshold with Straightforward Implementation

For SMEs, a WMS with uncomplicated implementation would definitely alleviate their afflictions during the process. SaaS WMS provides users with simple Online Users’ Guide to examine and learn, users could learn by using directly in the system via easy user interface and real-time reminders in the built-in system that most people comprehend, greatly lowering the implementation threshold. Even new employees could adapt to the system in a short time. To illustrate, they can begin picking, packing and arranging couriers in just 15 minutes; On the contrary, traditional WMS only arranges instructions during the implementation period. In this regard, internal trainings would be necessary for new employees, further consuming additional human resources and time. In addition, it also requires a certain amount of energy and time to keep the training materials and latest software functions effectively corresponding.

(2) Openness of System Integration

Some enterprises have already established existing business systems, including ERP system, accounting system and trading system etc. SaaS WMS possesses accessible Application Programming Interface (Open API), enabling effortless integration with distinctive systems. As for eCommerce, SaaS WMS is also capable of automatically connecting to all major eCommerce marketplaces and express delivery platforms. Owing to the completion of Open API before implementation, SaaS WMS would be able to perform integration expeditiously when various new software or online shopping platforms appear on the market. Similarly, SaaS WMS could also handily pair and integrate with the firm’s existing ERP system even as a single party. Compared with the traditional WMS, development time and money are often consumed while connecting to new software or platforms.

(3) Adapting to the Flexibility of Business Scale

In the recent years, retail and eCommerce have continued to revamp and develop. Goods have experienced gradual fragmentation, along with their origins being diversified. With consumers’ choices and demands on the increase, the life cycle of retail products has become shorter accordingly, prompting high possibility of adjusting the scale of warehouses (including the aspects of human resources and warehouse quantity). The emergence of Omni-Channel sales model precipitate firms to further integrate the logistical operations of online and offline orders. Seeing that SaaS WMS is based on a set of infrastructure that favor continuous advancement, the system can be automatically upgraded without additional development. Not only does it retain high flexibility, but it also supports multiple warehouses, channels and platforms concurrently, coordinating efficiently and swiftly with the modification of business scale as mentioned above. Conversely, the operation of traditional WMS only based on existing system design, requiring a certain time to upgrade the system and inducing the inability to adapt to these rapid changes. For instance, the outbreak of the 2020 pandemic restricted people to stay home and shop online, driving the needs for eCommerce enterprises to expand their sales scale. At this stage, the flexible SaaS WMS would be perfect for achieving the requirements of expanding warehousing business scale within a few days.

(4) Reducing Dependence on IT Resources

While implementing traditional WMS, firms set high standards on IT professionals and their capabilities. Not only should they possess relevant knowledge and techniques of software and hardware, but they should also understand thoroughly the operation of warehouse logistics, making it difficult for enterprises to identify such competent talents. On the other hand, firms that support SaaS WMS are mostly developed by industry professionals with rich logistics experiences. Equipped with their familiarity in logistics industry, along with the IT technology and customer support services as involved in the SaaS WMS monthly subscription model, enterprises no longer have to be anxious about the lack of talents and the plight of no door.

(5) Saving Ongoing Management Costs

Traditional WMS is extremely costly, with early-stage software development ranging from HK$300,000 to more than HK$1,000,000. During project implementation, there are the purchase and settings of servers and firewalls, as well as the provision of staff trainings and project management etc., costing more than HK$100,000 as a whole while reflecting a relatively high implementation threshold. Apart from that, ongoing asset operation and maintenance costs such as server maintenance, software upgrades, energy and backup etc. should also be taken into account. In contrast to the traditional one, SaaS WMS monthly charges only account for a fraction of the monthly salary of warehouse keepers, aiding the firms to be worry-free and pooling resources only in actual operations.

(6) Keeping up with the Innovation Advantages  

Getting involved in the booming and demand-changeable retail and eCommerce requires strong competitive advantages, which implies the importance of innovation. SaaS WMS only encompasses one set of code base, denoting the simplicity and continuity of innovations and modifications. Most importantly, its upgrading speed could manage to keep up with technology advancement and be promptly announced to customers, generating such crucial advantages for firms that enter retail and eCommerce competition industries. By contrast, it is compulsory for traditional WMS to carry out constructions and modifications for individual customers, considerably delaying the release schedule of brand new functions. Besides, in view of the continuous modification mechanism, basically any deficiencies in system functions could be repaired instantly and upgraded within a week.

There are certainly a lot more advantages of SaaS WMS over traditional WMS than these 6 points. Stay tuned to the logi-Cloud website or social platforms and also subscribe to the monthly email newsletter to get the latest news regarding logistics technology information.

Share:
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on google
Share on telegram

Share:

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on google
Share on telegram